Thursday, September 18, 2014

Kaze no Yume - "Dream of the Wind" (2012)

Kaze no Yume for sho, makusho, rin, hichiriki, ryuteki, computer, and video was composed during my year long stay in Japan. It was written for Ko Ishikawa, Hitomi Nakamura, and Chiaki Yagi. All of the visual images and many of the sounds were captured in Japan.

It is in three sections:
Part I - solo sho, computer, and video
Interlude - hichiriki and ryuteki duo
Part II - sho, hichiriki, and ryuteki trio

This work could not have been written without the great generosity of the three musicians for whom it was composed.

The composition of Kaze no Yume was made possible through the generous support of the Japan-US Educational Commission and the US State Department Fulbright Program.